In addition to fines, some driving offenses carry points in Illinois. These points accumulate on the driver’s motor vehicle record and may result in license suspension.
After receiving a traffic ticket, review the point system for Illinois traffic offenses.
Drivers ages 21 and older will receive a license suspension after getting at least 15 points within 24 months. The suspension terms vary from two months to 12 months depending on the exact offense and the number of prior suspensions the driver has on record.
Offenses that carry points
Some of the most common point-based Illinois traffic violations include the following:
- 55 points for reckless driving
- 50 points for operating a commercial vehicle without a license or failing to report an accident resulting in injury
- 30 points for causing an accident due to phone or device use
- 25 points for failing to report any accident, driving with an open container of alcohol or following too closely behind another vehicle
- 20 points for failing to yield to a pedestrian, passing another vehicle improperly, speeding at least 15 miles per hour over the limit, ignoring a traffic light or stop sign, or any speeding in a work or school zone
- 15 points for failing to signal or yield properly, conducting an improper U-turn or speeding 11 to 14 mph over the posted limit
- 5 points for having a broken light, driving too slow, driving the wrong way on a one-way street or speeding less than 10 mph over the limit
Appearing in court after an Illinois traffic ticket allows you to present evidence supporting your case.