How Do Driver’s License Points Work in Illinois?
Aug. 20, 2020
Like many states, Illinois has a point system for driving violations. Motorists who receive points risk sanctions such as license suspension.
Review the point system used by the Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles to understand what type of offenses will add points to your driving record.
Illinois assigns points for certain traffic violations. Some of the most common tickets that carry points include:
Speeding: 5 points for 1 to 10 mph above the posted speed limit, 15 points for 11 to 14 mph above the limit, 20 points for 15 to 25 mph above the limit and 50 points for higher speeds
Improper turn: 10 points
Improper U-turn: 15 points
Failure to yield to a pedestrian: 20 points
Speeding in a designated school zone: 20 points
Disregarding a traffic signal: 20 points
Improper passing: 20 points
Open container of alcohol: 25 points
Reckless driving: 55 points
Penalties for Points
These penalties apply to drivers ages 21 and older:
15 to 44 points: Two-month license suspension with no prior suspensions, four-month suspension with one prior and 12-month suspension with two priors
45 to 74 points: Six-month suspension with no or one prior suspension and 12-month suspension with two priors
75 to 89 points: Six-month suspension with no prior suspensions and 12-month suspension with one or more priors
90 to 99 points: Nine-month suspension with no prior suspensions and 12-month suspension with one or more priors
100 to 109 points: 12-month suspension
If you receive 110 or more points on your driving record, Illinois will permanently revoke your driving privileges.